AVC Constitutes Undergrad and Postgrad Committees

The Acting Vice Chancellor (AVC) of the Catholic University of Malawi, Rev. Fr. Dr. Wilfred Sumani, has constituted undergraduate and postgraduate committees to steer the process of introducing new programmes for the university.

The undergraduate that is being chaired by Dalitso Mcheka, a lecturer under the faculty of commerce, has been tasked with helping the university introduce new programmes, especially for the Nanjiri Campus (St. Thomas More) in Lilongwe, which is currently under construction.

The committee will, among other things, assess the landscape of undergraduates in Malawi with a view to identifying gaps. Members of the committee are also to look at undertaking preliminary stakeholders’ consultations and market surveys.

The postgraduate committee that is being chaired by Dr. Henry Shamu will, among other things, brainstorm on possible master’s programmes to be introduced at the Catholic University of Malawi, ascertaining their alignment with the institution’s current undergraduate programmes.

The constitution of the two committees is in line with the university’s Strategic Plan for 2022–2027, which aims to identify academic portfolio development as one of its strategic priorities.

The undergraduate committee has been composed of Dalitso Mcheka (Chair), Harold Banda, Chimwemwe Kandodo, and Octavian Kadzitche from the Catholic University; Dr. Henry Kadzuwa from the Malawi University of Business and Applied Sciences (MUBAS); and Steve Kololo from Financial Holdings Limited (FDH).

The postgraduate committee has the following members: Dr. Shamu, who is a chair, Dr. Justin Mangulama, Dr. Isaac Mwalwimba from the Catholic University, Prof. Steve Sharra from UNICAF, and Dr. Thom Bwanali from the Malawi Revenue Authority (MRA).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *