Catholic Bishops Appoint Principals of Catholic University St Thomas More Campus, St John’s College

The Catholic Bishops under the Episcopal Conference of Malawi (ECM) have appointed Rev. Fr. Dr. Israel Madziakaphwa and Rev. Fr. Dr. Henry Saindi as Principals of Catholic University of Malawi’s St Thomas More Campus in Lilongwe and St Johns College of Health Sciences and Teaching Hospital in Mzuzu respectively.

The appointments follow the Bishops’ Second Annual Plenary meeting that was held in Lilongwe from Monday 20th June to Friday 24th June 2022 at Catholic Secretariat.

The Second Annual plenary of the Catholic Bishops in Malawi this year has witnessed Rev. Fr. Dr. Alfred Chaima from the Archdiocese of Blantyre being appointed as Secretary-General of the Conference replacing Rev. Fr. Saindi who has completed his tenure of office as the Secretary-General of ECM.

ECM has also appointed Rev. Fr. Cosmas Kadzombe of the Diocese of Dedza as the Dean of the Faculty of Theology at the Catholic University of Malawi’s main campus in Nguludi Chiradzulu district.

Established in 1961, ECM has constituted bodies namely: the plenary assembly of Bishops, the Catholic Secretariat, and six committees (Catholic development, justice and peace, education, health, pastoral care, and communications).

After 43 years of its establishment, ECM established the Catholic University of Malawi in 2004 and officially opened for the first cohort of students in 2006.

Following the demand from prospective students to access quality education offered at the university, the Catholic Bishops have been geared to have constitute colleges of the Catholic University of Malawi in all the regions of the country with St Thomas More Campus in the Central and St Johns College of Health Sciences & Teaching Hospital in the North and Montfort Campus in the South.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *